home mail me! rss feed

.

Cashing in on James and Kati?

I’ve been personally moved by the unfolding story of the Search for James Kim and his family.

I was even surprised how overjoyed I felt, when Kim and the kids were found alive and well. I’m usually a bit of a curmudgeon, but this truly was a miracle in my book.

I’ve also been AMAZED to see how the use of the internet has helped raise the awareness and support. I’m certain that it was the internet that led to satellites being re-routed in the search. Which is apparently going to cost the Satellite company a pretty penny. “We’re doing it because it’s the right thing to do,” they said. Thumbs up in my book.

Like everyone else, I’m eagerly awaiting the news of James Kim’s safe return to his family.

What I am NOT doing is figuring out how to make money off the news.

But I got a VERY bad taste in my mouth, when I stumbled across www.jamesandkatikim.com. (Warning - if you don’t have a popup blocker, prepare to be offered a Free Laptop!) It’s another domain squatter, who capitalizes on people’s bad spelling, when typing in URL’s in the browser.

The page doesn’t even FORWARD you to anything of use. What was this idiot thinking? Make a few bucks off of a tragedy? I love the quote at the top:”What you need, when you need it”. What a crock.

It was registered 12/5. The WHOIS registry lists:

Registrar: NAMEKING.COM, INC.
Whois Server: whois.nameking.com
Referral URL: http://www.nameking.comExpiration Date: 2007-12-05
Creation Date: 2006-12-05
Last Update Date: 2006-12-05

Name Servers:
ns11.maltuzi.com
ns1.maltuzi.com

The REAL site is http://www.jamesandkati.com, and I think that everyone who has HELPED in the search and rescue efforts are heroes in my book.

As for NAMEKING.COM! You get my finger of shame!

UPDATE: I did a little digging. The website seems to be run by a company called information.com. I’m NOT Sure if Nameking.com is just the domain/register/ISP. The REAL owners of the site are clearly information.com.

For those so inclined, you can leave the company feedback here!

« Are you cut out to work for the CIA? | Crestfallen »

Gravatar

BB said,

December 6, 2006 @ 3:21 pm

This really is a horrible thing. What was this person thinking, I mean, James Kim has always been such a good hearted person who loves technology. I understand people need to pay the bills, but there are some things that you shouldn’t do. This really is one of them. How can “NameKing” sleep at night knowing that he is making money off a tragedy like this. I haven’t been the best citizen in the world, but at least I can look myself in the mirror. I’m pretty sure NameKing hasn’t looked in the mirror for a loooooong time.

Gravatar

suzan said,

December 8, 2006 @ 9:38 am

I ran into that too. I had sleepless nights and was reminded of the horror this honorable man went through when I got cold at night, and slipped on an extra pair of socks and turned up the heater. I had images of his video and images of what he wrote on his ‘bio’ on the CNET channel. He was showing his latest review (I believe it was the mp3), and I could see a picture of his daughter on the image he was showing. This morning, I looked up (typed in the wrong website in error), and was so shocked someone was trying to sell and make money off their name. The person buying the name is just as bad as the person purchasing to make money. (the correct and real website is “jamesandkati.com”).

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment